courtesy of iclipart.com

I’ve mentioned the FlyLady before.  She is helping me to care for my house as best I can one step at a time.  Connected to her philosophies, is Jonathan Roche’s No Excuses Work Out.  I had signed up for their community mailings a while back, and was hoping that would be enough to get me working out again.  After much debate, and Fireman saying he wants to do something to get in shape too, I decided to pay for the more personalized guidance and work outs.  My thinking was that if 2 of us would be using his suggestions, we’re still better off than joining a gym and we if we don’t like it, I can get a refund within the month.  He also has a free membership if you just need a little bit of help.

So today I did my first work out, took my measurements and did my fitness test.  I’m going to be brave and post my total measurements and my fitness test results.  He suggests that the 2 tests be done monthly (every 30 days or so).  Hopefully, I will stick with this enough, that I will be able to give you my new numbers next month.

Roche’s suggested training is to do 3 days of interval training and 2-3 days of strength training a week.  Watching his video was very helpful because I was able to see that (like cleaning the house) it doesn’t make a difference how I look while working out, as long as I do it.  I will try to do a weekly post to keep track of my work outs for the week.

How am I doing?

Starting numbers:

Measurements:

  • Bicep: 11″
  • Bust: 35.25″
  • Chest: 31.5″
  • Waist: 34″
  • Hips: 40″
  • Thigh: 23″
  • Calf: 14″

Total: 188.75″

Fitness Test Results:

  • Push-Ups (from knees): 10 reps
  • Crunches: 23 reps
  • Plank (from knees): 22.3 seconds
  • Jumping Jacks (30 seconds): 29 reps

Total Score: 84.3

What do you do to work out?

Anyone have some great music suggestions for interval workouts?

